Mitchel Musso: “TV Guide” Interview

Mitchel Musso in “TV Guide”:

Why are you switching to recurring status next season on Hannah Montana? “In the last episode of Season 3, Oliver leaves on a six-month tour, so I might miss the first couple weeks of [Season 4]. But other than that, you’ll see me. And I’ll be back with a lot more music. So yes, I’m taking a little time off to work on my music, but I have a bunch of new acting gigs coming up, too. I can’t talk about them just yet, but keep your ears open.”

Which album song most to you? ” ‘Us Against the World’, which is a duet with me and Katelyn Tarver. It might be the edgiest song on the record, but that’s where my head is at in music. It’s a very MGMT sound, involving rock and dance and electro and hip-hop all in one. It’s a Romeo and Juliet story about nobody wanting you to be together, but it’s worth it to try. It’s a great message with a great sound. It’s my sound. My second album, that’s what it’s all going to be about.”

Are the girlfriend songs about anyone in particular? “Well, yeah. I think it’s cool to write about certain people in your life and what’s real and what’s going on. But in my main single, ‘Hey,’ the chorus is, ‘Hey, I’m screaming at you/I don’t care enough to write you a letter/Now that I’m doing better alone’, basically, ‘I’m better off without you, no matter what,’ and I would never say that to a girl. So that’s just a song. Sometimes I feel like I’m taking on a role when I’m writing a song, and it doesn’t always have to be true. I’m not sitting in my room crying with my guitar, writing a slow solo about a depressing breakup; that’s not me. My songs are about girls, partying and being yourself.”

Miley Cyrus posted a picture of her and Mitchel yesterday:

10880457-4dd52bd8743c9d24ce712a1ed959075f_4a26765a-scaled

@MitchelMusso’s Album dropped TODAY!!! Whoop whoo! Go check it out! On iTunes right now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

